Fermanagh South Tyrone Sinn Féin Sinn Féin -- Building an Ireland of Equals

Seán Lynch encourages farmers to apply for flooding assistance scheme before closing date.

Published: 17 April, 2016

Sinn Féin Assembly candidate for Fermanagh South Tyrone, Sean Lynch, has been visiting local farmers to encourage uptake of the emergency flooding assistance programme for farms announced by party colleague Michelle O'Neill in her role as Agriculture and Rural Development Minister recently.

Whilst visiting farms in the Lisnaskea area, Mr Lynch said;

"The recent flooding brought huge problems for many in rural communities, particularly in Fermanagh.

"The Emergency Financial Assistance Scheme for non-domestic properties is of great benefit to small businesses, community groups and farms who experienced flooding recently where the losses incurred were uninsurable.

"Just as with the flood assistance scheme for domestic properties, which was also introduced by my party colleague; this scheme is being administered through Fermanagh and Omagh District Council.

"The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development have reported that 40 farm businesses meet the eligibility criteria for this funding, the majority of them in Fermanagh.

"I am out today to encourage farmers affected by flooding to apply for this one-off payment as the closing date for applications is at the end of the month.

"This flood assistance scheme also applies to small businesses, recreational and community facilities and places of worship that have suffered severe inconvenience as a result of flooding, during the period 7 November 2015 to 31 January 2016.

"The introduction of this support for flood-hit communities is further evidence of Sinn Féin's commitment to improve the lives of those living in rural communities and those involved in agriculture.

"I would encourage all those affected by the recent sustained flooding to apply before 29th April by post or 30th April online. Full details and applications forms can be obtained from Fermanagh and Omagh District Council."